MY JOURNEY THROUGH TECH

gen.jpeg Hi , my name is Omeh Kasiemobi , and this is my story.

In High school, Everyone had a prospective career path, everyone knew what they wanted to be in future, even though they weren't sure, they just had a dream. Well, everyone except Kasie. I really never pictured my self doing anything in particular, I didn't know what it was I was supposed to be doing, I was in science class and I was doing well, except for math. Generally, I was a bright student( so I thought), when it was time for UTME. I went for Nursing, my siblings were Medical Doctors, so I felt I could complement them, or so my dad made me believe. Long story short, I flopped my JAMB (Joint Admission and Matriculation Board) and scored enough to get into FUTO (Federal University of Technology Owerri) where I studied Microbiology and I finished amazingly well.

THE DECIDING MOMENT.

Sometime in 2019 during my NYSC (National Youth Service Corps) a mandated government policy in Nigeria for all graduates, I clearly remember the day I had a very long conversation with a friend and how she insisted that I stopped thinking for so long and decide, I was still very unsure and because I was posted to a work space that wasn't demanding, I had a lot of time on my hands and that was enough time to think deeply about my career path. All I knew was that I wanted to be part of a problem solving system, I wanted to create and build, but how do I belong, what can I do? where do I start? After so much thoughts, I reached out to my best friend's Uncle who is in the tech space and he talked so much about Cyber Security and it picked my interest. I read a lot of Materials and decided to take up a course on the Basics of cyber security and I did for a month.

ZERO TO MASTERY.

While I was taking the course on Cyber security, I realized it wasn't something I could just wake up and decide to start reading, I had to be conversant with programming languages, I had to understand the computer network and the web space, I saw the need to redirect and so , I reached out to people on LinkedIn(I am very good at reaching out) as luck would have it , everyone was willing to help and they all said the same thing, start with python or JavaScript. The very last person was amazingly helpful and he said he was on the the same path too and he helped with a course on Udemy; Python- Zero to Mastery. It took 3 months of showing up everyday to finish this course. I learnt beyond the mathematical functions, the data structures and learnt how to send messages and emails with simple lines of code, the highlight of it all had to be when I learnt how to use Flask frame work to build the server End of a web page. The journey was very challenging and they were days I didn't want to keep doing this, I had very horrible headaches and I fell sick a couple of times. It wasn't easy and took special grace and discipline and was fueled by determination.

GENSEYS TECH HUB.

The origin, the formative mode. Few weeks into my python online Course, in January, a Friend sent a Link to an internship application with Genesys Tech Hub Enugu, Nigeria. I had never heard of them even though I grew up in that city. After I had gone through the application, I realized I couldn't apply because the application required a GitHub account where I must have deployed a project or two, I was just starting , so I could not brag about anything yet. (Except ‘Hello world’ of course).Two months later, on the Streets of twitter, I came across the same application and I knew I just had to apply. On the 7th of March 2020 , I put in my application to start my journey through tech with Genesys Tech Hub and on June 29th 2020 I got my last on boarding mail, after 2 series of interviews, to join the Family and I m super excited. This is my starting point, my formative process. I am currently a part of Developer communities, because I know the power of community and how much strength can be drawn from there. I strongly believe that everything is learnable once you put you mind to it, Limitations happen only in the mind and it is never too late to dream up a path.

THANKS FOR READING!