MY JOURNEY THROUGH TECH

MY JOURNEY THROUGH TECH

·

4 min read

Hi , my name is Omeh Kasiemobi , and this is my story.

In High school, everyone had a prospective career path, everyone knew what they wanted to be in future, even though they weren't sure, they just had a dream. Well, everyone except Kasie. I really never pictured myself doing anything in particular, I didn't know what it was I was supposed to be doing. I was in science class and I was doing well, except for math. Generally, I was a bright student (so I thought). When it was time for UTME. I went for Nursing. My siblings were Medical Doctors, so I felt I could complement them, or so my dad made me believe. Long story short, I flopped my JAMB (Joint Admission and Matriculation Board) and scored enough to get into FUTO (Federal University of Technology Owerri) where I studied Microbiology and finished amazingly well.

THE DECIDING MOMENT.

Sometime in 2019 during my NYSC (National Youth Service Corps) a mandated government policy in Nigeria for all graduates, I clearly remember the day I had a very long conversation with a friend and how she insisted that I stopped thinking for so long and decide. I was still very unsure and because I was posted to a work space that wasn't demanding, I had a lot of time on my hands and that was enough time to think deeply about my career path. All I knew was that I wanted to be part of a problem-solving system, I wanted to create and build, but how do I belong, what could I do? Where would I start? After so much thought, I reached out to my best friend's uncle who is in the tech space and he talked so much about Cyber Security and it piqued my interest. I read a lot of materials and decided to take up a course on the basics of cyber security and I did for a month.

ZERO TO MASTERY.

While I was taking the course on cyber security, I realized it wasn't something I could just wake up and decide to start reading. I had to be conversant with programming languages, I had to understand the computer network and the web space. I saw the need to redirect and so I reached out to people on LinkedIn (I am quite good at reaching out). As luck would have it, everyone was willing to help and they all said the same thing: start with Python or JavaScript. The very last person was amazingly helpful and he said he was on the the same path too. and He helped with a course on Udemy; Python- Zero to Mastery. It took 3 months of showing up every day to finish this course. I learnt beyond the mathematical functions, the data structures and learnt how to send messages and emails with simple lines of code. The highlight of it all had to be when I learnt how to use Flask framework to build the server end of a web page. The journey was very challenging and there were days when I wanted to give up: didn't want to keep doing this, I had very horrible headaches and I fell sick a couple of times. It wasn't easy, and took special grace and discipline and was fueled by determination.

GENESYS TECH HUB.

The origin, the formative mode. A few weeks into my online Python online course, in January, a friend sent a link to an internship application with Genesys Tech Hub Enugu, Nigeria. I had never heard of them even though I grew up in that city. After I had gone through the application, I realized I couldn't apply because the application required a GitHub account where I must have deployed a project or two. I was just starting, so I could not brag about anything yet (except ‘Hello world’ of course). Two months later, on the streets of Twitter, I came across the same application and I knew I just had to apply. On the 7th of March 2020 , I put in my application to start my journey through tech with Genesys Tech Hub and on June 29th 2020 I got my last on boarding mail, after 2 series of interviews, I was asked to join the family and I am super excited. This is my starting point, my formative process. I am currently a part of developer communities because I know the power of community and how much strength can be drawn from there. I strongly believe that everything is learnable once you put your mind to it. Limitations happen only in the mind and it is never too late to dream up a path.

THANKS FOR READING!